The trustees of the Fair created a FARMER OF THE YEAR program in 1992. Now, during every year of the Fair, an individual is selected as the FARMER OF THE YEAR. The selection has been made by the Middlesex County Board of Agriculture and the award will be presented by the Fair Association during the Fair. A permanent plaque is mounted in the lobby of the Fair Office listing the names of those selected as the years go by.

The Farmer of the Year Award for 2019 has been granted to Carolyn "Midge" Hauser.

The PRESENTATIONS will be held on Monday, August 5th, at 6:00 PM.

Farmer of the Year: Carolyn "Midge" Hauser:

Midge was born and raised in Old Bridge, New Jersey and attended and graduated from Cedar Ridge High School in Old Bridge.  She then graduated from Susquehanna University, in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania with a BA in Spanish and a minor in Art History. While there, she participated in a study abroad program, living and studying in Segovia, Spain.  She later earned a Masters’ Degree in the Art of Teaching from Marygrove College.

Midge began teaching in 1998 and has been teaching Spanish for 21 years, 19 of them in Old Bridge Township. Over the years she has taught grades two through high school.

In 2000, Midge met and married her husband John, a fourth generation farmer and business owner in Old Bridge.  As a farmer’s wife and partner, she has many jobs on the farm. Planting, picking, staffing, greenhouse work, taking care of and feeding animals, working at tailgate markets, paperwork, keeping records, promoting their business through social media, community outreach and just about anything else that needs to be done. She also helps John in the running of Browntown Bus Service, Inc., a school bus contracting company and airport service. Midge is especially proud to be a stepmother to Patricia and John Michael, Grandma Midge to Kayla and an aunt to Jackie, Paul, Michaela, John Francis and Eddie.

Midge has been a member of the Middlesex County Board of Agriculture for more than 15 years and was the first woman to serve as President of the Board from 2016-2018.

Farmer of the Year

Inaugural Class

In recognition of the founders of the Middlesex County Fair Association

1938-1992 Albert F. Foerter
1938-1992 Lawrence J. Smith
1938-1992 Russell B. Herbert
1938-1992 Joseph J. Smith
1938-1992 Edgar V. Renk
1938-1992 Clarence Hunkle

Winners Since 1993

  • 1993 Roman Clark
  • 1994 Willets Griffin
  • 1995 Kelmer Keleman
  • 1996 Roy Etsch
  • 1997 Rudy Wellnitz
  • 1998 Robert VonThun, Sr.
  • 1999 George Conover
  • 2000 Arthur Danser
  • 2001 Donald Patterson
  • 2002 Byrne Brothers
  • 2003 James Etsch
  • 2004 John J. Hauser
  • 2005 William Griffin
  • 2006 Alan M. Habiak
  • 2007 Patricia Jaccoma
  • 2008 James Giamerese
  • 2009 Robert E. Hluchy, Jr.
  • 2010 Al Danser
  • 2011 Clarence W. Dey, Jr.
  • 2012 Roman W. Clark, Jr.
  • 2013 Bob VonThun Jr.
  • 2014 David Byrne
  • 2015 Robert Balz
  • 2016 Erik Hague
  • 2017 Elias Oliveira
  • 2018 Shaun Hulchy
  • 2019 Carolyn "Midge" Hauser